California Dental Practice Act: 2 Hour Course

Updates from the California Dental Board






PEDIATRIC ANESTHESIA STUDY 2017

As of January 1, 2017, “the Dental Board of California (Board) has completed the Pediatric Anesthesia Study regarding whether or not California’s present laws, regulations, and policies are sufficient to provide protection of pediatric patients during dental sedation and anesthesia. The Board held four meetings to discuss this issue and took public comment at each meeting. The final report, board recommendations, and the record of public comments can be viewed on this website:”
http://www.dbc.ca.gov/formspubs/pedanesthisiastudy20161230.pdf

The Dental Board of California, in it’s Pediatric Anesthesia Study, concludes, “Pediatric sedation requirements Individual states have taken different approaches to the regulation of pediatric sedation. Twenty five states, including California have special requirements for young patients. California requirements apply to patients age 13 or under. An increasing number of states have adopted pediatric sedation educational requirements, equipment requirements, and permits over the past 10 years. All states regulate moderate sedation and deep sedation/GA , regardless of route of administration. Ten states (California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Missouri, Missisippi, North Carolina and Oklahoma ) require permits for sedating pediatric patients. Sixteen states require specific training, some in addition to adult sedation training, to administer moderate/conscious sedation to pediatric patients. Approximately twenty nine states have specific requirements for pediatric sedation administered by the oral route. States differ in their definition of the pediatric patient. Several states define the pediatric patient as being under the age of 12 consistent with ADA Guidelines; however other states use 13, 14, 16 and 18 years of age. Most states, including California, specify that the practitioner must have appropriately sized equipment for pediatric patients. In s o m e states ACLS certification is d e e m e d sufficient for treating pediatric patients; Twenty states currently require PALS certification. California does not presently require certification in PALS. Although ten states have adopted the AAP-AAPD Guidelines, these usually apply to minimal and moderate sedation. Most states do not have specific requirements for the administration of deep sedation/general anesthesia to children.”

ALERT – Suspension of the Registered Dental Assistant (RDA) Practical Examination

http://www.dbc.ca.gov/index.shtml

On April 6, 2017, the Dental Board of California (Board) voted to suspend the Registered Dental Assistant (RDA) practical examination as a result of the findings of the review of the practical examination conducted by the Office of Professional Examination Services (OPES) of the Department of Consumer Affairs (DCA). Pursuant to Business and Professions Code Section 1752.1, the Board may vote to suspend the practical examination if the review conducted by the OPES concludes that the practical examination is unnecessary or does not accurately measure the competency of RDAs.

RDAs/RDEFs shall, still, demonstrate satisfactory performance in both a state-administered written exam, and a Law & Ethics exam, as well as, follow all enforceable licensure regulations that are still active.  Please refer to licensure requirement section in this course.

NOTICE OF EXISTING LAW RELATING TO THE USE OF BOTOX AND DERMAL FILLERS

The  Board  has  received  many  inquiries  regarding  the  use  of  Botox  and  similar drugs.  Under California law, dentistry is defined, in pertinent part, as “diagnosis or treatment, by surgery or other method, of diseases and lesions and the correction of malpositions  of  the  human  teeth,  alveolar  process,  gums,  jaws,  or  associated structures; and such diagnosis or treatment may include all necessary related procedures as well as the use of drugs, anesthetic agents, and physical evaluation…” (Business and Professions Code section 1625).  A dentist may, therefore, use any legally prescribed drugs to treat patients as long as the treatment is within the aforementioned scope of practice.

Business and Professions Code, Section 1638.1, states a person licensed pursuant to Section 1634 who wishes to perform elective facial cosmetic surgery shall first apply for and receive a permit to perform elective facial cosmetic surgery from the board.

APPLYING FOR AN ELECTIVE FACIAL COSMETIC SURGERY PERMIT

The primary requirements for a permit to perform Elective Facial Cosmetic Surgery are defined in Business and Professions Code, Section 1638.1.

The requirements for an Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Elective Facial Cosmetic Surgery Permit include, but may not be limited to submitting the following documentation:

  1. A completed application form.
  2. Proof of successful completion of an oral and maxillofacial surgery residency program accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association.
  3. Proof that the applicant has satisfied the criteria specified in either subparagraph (A) or (B).
  4. Submit to the board a letter from the program director of the accredited residency program, or from the director of a postresidency fellowship program accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation of the American Dental Association.
  5. Submit to the board of at least 10 operative reports from residency training or proctored procedures that are representative of procedures that the licensee intends to perform from both categories as stated in subparagraph (A)(iii) (1) and (ll).
  6. Documentation showing the surgical privileges that the surgical privileges the applicant possesses at any licensed general acute care hospital and any licensed outpatient surgical facility in this state.
  7. Proof that the applicant is on active status on the staff of a general acute care hospital to perform the surgical procedures set forth in paragraph (A) at that hospital.
  8. An application fee of $500.00

RENEWING YOUR PERMIT

An Elective Facial Cosmetic Surgery Permit expires when the permitholder license expires and must be renewed every two years. Every six years, prior to renewal of the permitholder's licensed and permit, the permitholder shall submit evidence acceptable to the credentialing committee that he or she has maintained continued competence to perform the procedures authorized by the permit.

A licensed California dentist who has been granted a permit to perform elective facial cosmetic surgery may utilize Botox and similar drugs purely for cosmetic purposes as long  as  it  is  legally  prescribed  and  within  the  scope  of  practice  for  their  permit (see  Business and Professions Code section 1638.1).  Please note that some permit holders may not be authorized to perform all cosmetic surgery procedures within the scope of the elective facial cosmetic surgery permit.

  1.  Additionally it should be noted that all procedures authorized under the Elective Facial Cosmetic Surgery permit must be performed in an acute care hospital, or an outpatient surgical facility accredited by the associations listed in  Business and Professions Code section 1638.1(f).

ALERT - POTENTIAL LICENSE DENIAL OR SUSPENSION FOR FAILURE TO PAY TAXES

Effective July 1, 2012, the Dental Board of California is required to deny an application for licensure or suspend a license/certificate/registration if a licensee or applicant has outstanding tax obligations due to the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) or the State Board of Equalization (BOE) and appears on either the FTB or BOE’s certified lists of top 500 tax delinquencies over $100,000. (AB 1424, Perea, Chapter 455, Statutes of 2011).

Continue on to References