DDS/Doctor of Dental Surgery
To practice dentistry in California, the following are various steps in applying for licensure:
- Graduation from an ADA's Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA) approved dental school or a board-approved dental school or Hybrid Portfolio Pathway
- Fulfill licensure examination requirements.
- Each licensed dental professional must maintain their competency.
- Complete continuing education requirements.
- Pay license renewal fees every two years.
- Apply for license, following Residential Licensure Pathway or Credential Licensure Pathway
The DBC has been mandated by the California Legislature to accept applications from foreign dental schools for consideration. The process would allow any student from an approved foreign dental school to be eligible for licensure in California, with the same requirements as a U.S. dental school graduate.
There are many pathways to apply for licensure as a dentist:
- Exam – Successfully complete a California board exam or the Western Regional
- Residency – Complete a minimum of 12 months of general practice residency or
advanced education in a general dentistry program approved by the CODA. Detailed below.
- By Credential – Submit proof of having been in active clinical practice for 5000
hours in five of the last seven years, and of an active dental license issued by
another state. Detailed below.
- Hybrid Portfolio- Detailed below.
Note: The applicant may not have failed the California licensure exam or the WREB clinical exam within the last five years. A letter from WREB stating that the applicant has not failed the WREB exam must be submitted as proof.
Licensure by Residency
An individual may qualify for dental licensure on the basis of completion of a minimum of 12 months of a general practice residency or advanced education in general dentistry program approved by the ADA's Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA). Complete details may be obtained at http://www.dbc.ca.gov.
Effective February 1, 2008 individuals may qualify for dental licensure on the basis of completion of a minimum of 12 months of a general practice residency or advanced education in general dentistry program approved by the ADA's Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA) as long as the following requirements are submitted upon completion of the residency program:
Requirements include a completed application and application fee of $100.00 with completed Residency 1(07/08) form and proof of:
- Graduation from a Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA) of the ADA approved dental school or board approved dental school,
- Completion of a CODA-approved general practice residency OR advanced education in general dentistry program as certified by the program director on the Certification of Clinical Residency Completion form (07/08),
- Successful completion of Part I and Part II of the National Board Dental Examination of the Joint Commission on National Dental Examinations,
- Not failing the WREB or California clinical examination within the last five (5) years (A letter from WREB stating that the applicant has not failed the WREB clinical examination within the last five years is acceptable proof); and,
- Completion of fingerprinting requirements pursuant to Section 1629(b) of the Business and Professions code.
Additional requirements for issuance of a California dental license are:
- Successful completion of the California Law and Ethics exam, and
- Fingerprint clearances received from Dept. of Justice and the FBI, and
- Completion of Lic-2 (11/07) Application for Issuance of License and Registration of Place of Practice (will be mailed to the applicant upon completion of all other licensure requirements).
Licensure by Credential
The requirements for Licensure by Credential include, but are not limited to:
- A completed application and payment of all fees.
- Mail to:
- Dental Board of California
2005 Evergreen Street, Suite 1550
Sacramento, CA 95815
- A current license issued by another state to practice dentistry that is not revoked, suspended or otherwise restricted. Out of State Certification Form
- Proof that the applicant has either been in active clinical practice or has been a full-time faculty member in an accredited dental education program and in active clinical practice for a total of at least 5,000 hours in five of the seven consecutive years immediately preceding the date of his or her application.
- Residency – Maximum of two (2) years of clinical practice credit allowed for a residency training program accredited by the American Dental Association, Commission on Dental Accreditation
With two years of clinical practice, or a completed residency, the remainder of the 5-year requirement may be fulfilled with a contract to teach or to practice in settings specified in Business and Professions Code, Sections 1635.5(a)(3)(B) and 1635.5(a)(3)(C).
- The applicant may not have failed the California licensure exam or the WREB clinical exam within the last five years. A letter from WREB stating that the applicant has not failed the WREB exam must be submitted as proof.
- Fifty (50) units of continuing education in the last two years, including current mandatory courses.
Application to establish eligibility fee (non-refundable): $283.00
(This does not include initial licensing fee, which will be assessed upon approval of application.)
Fingerprint clearance is required for licensure.
Hybrid Portfolio Pathway to Qualify for Initial Licensure as a General Dentist - Fact Sheet
Taken from the Dental Board of California website: http://www.dbc.ca.gov/applicants/hybrid_facts.shtml
The Hybrid Portfolio is an initial licensure pathway that allows the Dental Board of California (Board) to delegate the administration of the clinical examination as legally mandated by the California State Business and Professions Code to the five CODA approved Dental Schools in the State of California. The Clinical Competency Exams will be administered under direct oversight and regular auditing by the Board and will utilize the psychometric principles of standardization, calibration, and verification.
- The Hybrid Portfolio is an initial licensure pathway that allows the Dental Board of California (Board) to delegate the administration of the clinical examination as legally mandated by the California State Business and Professions Code to the five CODA approved Dental Schools in the State of California. The Clinical Competency Exams will be administered under direct oversight and regular auditing by the Board and will utilize the psychometric principles of standardization, calibration, and verification.
- Currently, the required clinical examination is administered at the various dental schools within the state by either the Board or the Western Regional Examining Board (WREB), a private examining group, at the various dental schools within the state.
- The current clinical examination tests in only four clinical areas and is considered a "snap-shot", one point in time exam, as the candidate is assessed in a high-stakes evaluation of competency.
- Candidates pay an examination fee as high as $2,000.00. Additionally, candidates are required to supply patients to sit for the examination.
- Patients may or may not be patients of record of the Dental School, and can be family members, friends, or obtained by other means, including Craig's List.
Several patients are needed for the exam and are often purchased from a third party for up to $2000 per patient
- Post-examination care is difficult at best if the patient involved with the clinical examination is not a patient of record for the participating Dental School.
- Hybrid Portfolio has been developed by the Board in conjunction with the five Dental Schools, and validated and modified by psychometric analysis.
- The Hybrid Portfolio will be much broader based. It will test in seven clinical areas on patients of record with Competency Exams requiring an "on demand acceptable clinical performance".
- The Hybrid Portfolio consists of sequential candidate evaluation and passing a Competency Exam utilizing a patient of record in each of the following areas:
- Oral Diagnosis and Treatment Planning; Completed case
- Periodontics: Diagnosis, Scaling and Root Planing procedures
- Direct Restorative: Class II amalgam or composite, and Class III composite
- Indirect Restorative: Fixed Prosthodontics, Crown and Bridge Procedures
- Endodontics: Completed case
- Removable Prosthetics: Completed case
- The 5 Dental Schools have agreed to minimum Clinical Experiences that their students will achieve as a pre-requisite before the student will be deemed ready and thus allowed to sit for the Clinical Examination.
- These minimum clinical experiences are common requirements, and are within the individual school requirements for graduation. Consequently, a student will still need to meet all academic requirements for that Dental School for graduation, allowing for academic autonomy of individual Dental Schools.
- One advantage is that the student candidate can perform the required Competency Examinations throughout their dental school tenure utilizing normal standards of patient care while insuring patient protection in the process. Consequently, the examination is no longer a high pressure, high stakes, snap-shot evaluation.
- Additionally, the procedures are performed on patients who are of record of the individual Dental Schools, ensuring that follow-up care can be obtained if necessary for those involved with this process. Also, the pressure of acquiring patients is alleviated, as the Clinical Examination can be performed at any time once the Clinical Experience requirements have been met. This allows for public protection and safety, minimizing the potential exposure of the patient involved in the current snap-shot examination process.
- The student candidate competency during the Clinical Exams will be evaluated by calibrated examiners who are members of the Dental School faculty. This method has been found to be appropriate by psychometric analysis.
- The Board will continue to maintain authority over this process, assigning the final grade of Pass/Fail to the candidate at the completion of the seven Clinical Examinations.
- Candidates will be required to satisfactorily pass Parts 1 and 2 of the National Board examination and the California Law and Ethics Examination as well, and must be in good Academic Standing as reported by the Dean of each Dental School. They must have no pending ethical issues.
- The finger-printing and background check required by the Board will continue to be part of the application process.
- In order to ensure public safety, the Board will maintain oversight of the process utilizing current Dental Board Examiners.
- The fiscal impact will be significant, as the Board will no longer be required to perform a stand-alone clinical examination which will save considerable licensing funds.
SPECIAL PERMITS FOR DDS (Specific requirements can be found at: http://www.dbc.ca.gov)
Special permits are required for a dentist who may wish to use some form of patient sedation in their practice. The permits include:
- Oral Conscious Sedation for Adults.
- Oral Conscious Sedation for Minors.
- Conscious Sedation.
- General Anesthesia.
- General Anesthesia for Minors.
Each permit has specific:
- Educational requirements.
- Continuing education requirements.
- Renewal every two years.
- On-site inspection for all except for Oral Conscious Sedation.
Currently, as of November 2016, ”Caleb’s Bill,” officially titled Assembly Bill No. 2235, was approved by the Governor and is in its final stages of revision, to better protect patients undergoing general anesthesia during dental procedures. The bill is named after a 6 year old child who was declared brain dead after his organs shut down, from an oral surgery mishap while being sedated under general anesthesia. It sets out to better document unfortunate cases when patients require medical intervention due to complications and/or death arising from a dental procedure while under general anesthesia.
This mandatory and collected data from the Practitioner, by way of the Dental Board, or Dental Hygiene Committee, will help decide if it would be safer to have separate Licensed Practitioners performing the general anesthesia and the other performing the dental procedure. There is grave concern that by having a single Practitioner perform both, that it is NOT ideal nor safe for any age patient, as hospitals routinely have separate Licensed Practitioners working together on patients undergoing general anesthesia.
Assembly Bill No. 2235
An act to amend Sections 1680 and 1682 of, and to add Section 1601.4 to, the Business and Professions Code, relating to healing arts.
[ Approved by Governor September 23, 2016. Filed with Secretary of State September 23, 2016.]
LEGISLATIVE COUNSEL'S DIGEST
AB 2235, Thurmond. Board of Dentistry: pediatric anesthesia: committee.
The Dental Practice Act provides for the licensure and regulation of dentists by the Dental Board of California. That act authorizes a committee of the board to evaluate all suggestions or requests for regulatory changes related to the committee and to hold informational hearings in order to report and make appropriate recommendations to the board, after consultation with departmental legal counsel and the board’s chief executive officer. The act requires a committee to include in any report regarding a proposed regulatory change, at a minimum, the specific language or the proposed change or changes and the reasons therefor, and any facts supporting the need for the change.
The act governs the use of general anesthesia, conscious sedation, and oral conscious sedation for pediatric and adult patients. The act makes it unprofessional conduct for a licensee to fail to report the death of a patient, or removal of a patient to a hospital or emergency center for medical treatment, that is related to a dental procedure, as specified. The act also makes it unprofessional conduct for any dentist to fail to obtain the written informed consent of a patient prior to administering general anesthesia or conscious sedation. In the case of a minor, the act requires that the consent be obtained from the child’s parent or guardian.
This bill, which would be known as “Caleb’s Law,” would require the board, on or before January 1, 2017, to provide to the Legislature a report on whether current statutes and regulations for the administration and monitoring of pediatric anesthesia in dentistry provide adequate protection for pediatric dental patients and would require the board to make the report publicly available on the board’s Internet Web site. The bill also would require the board to provide a report on pediatric deaths related to general anesthesia in dentistry at the time of its sunset review by the appropriate policy committees of the Legislature.
This bill would require that the report of the death of a patient, or removal of a patient to a hospital or emergency center for medical treatment, be on a form or forms approved by the board and that the report include specified information. The bill authorizes the board to assess a penalty on any licensee who fails to make the required report.This bill, with regard to obtaining written informed consent for general anesthesia or conscious sedation in the case of a minor, would require that the written informed consent include specified information regarding anesthesia, as provided.
RDH/ Registered Dental Hygienist
To become licensed as a Registered Dental Hygienist in California an individual must, at minimum:
- Graduate from an ADA accredited dental hygiene program in the United States.
- Successfully complete the Dental Hygiene National Boards.
- Successfully complete the state clinical boards OR successfully meet credentialing methods
- Provide verification of completion of board approved courses in:
- Administration of local anesthesia.
- Soft tissue curettage.
- Administration of nitrous oxide and oxygen.
This is overview of the requirements for license by credential for the RDH. Complete details may be obtained at www.dhcc.ca.gov.
- Licensure as a registered dental hygienist issued by another state that is not revoked, suspended, or otherwise restricted.
- Clinical practice as a registered dental hygienist for a minimum of 750 hrs per year for at least five years preceding date of application.
- Not been subject to disciplinary action by any state
- Graduation from an accredited dental hygiene school
- Satisfactory completion of the Dental Hygiene National Board Examination
- Completion of a state or regional clinical licensure examination
- Completion of a minimum of 25 units of continuing education, including completion of any continuing education requirements imposed by the board in California
- Completion of board approved courses of instruction in:
- Periodontal soft tissue curettage.
- Administration of local anesthetic.
- Administration of nitrous oxide.
SPECIAL PERMITS FOR RDH
Special certificates are required for the Registered Dental Hygienist to perform:
- Periodontal soft tissue curettage.
- Administration of local anesthetic.
- Administration of nitrous oxide.
Attendance at a Board-approved course of instruction is required to obtain each of these licenses. The course of instruction must include patient treatment and written and clinical examinations. All graduates of California hygiene programs and individuals seeking licensure from out of state must complete courses in these three functions. Individuals who were licensed prior to such requirements have the option to be certified in these functions.
RDHAP/Registered Dental Hygienist in Alternative Practice
To become licensed as a Registered Dental Hygienist in Alterative Practice in California an individual must meet all requirements set forth for licensure as a RDH in California, plus:
- Hold a current RDH license.
- Have been engaged in clinical practice as a dental hygienist for a minimum of 2,000 hours in the preceding 36 months.
- Possess a Bachelor’s degree or its equivalent.
- Complete 150 hours of an approved educational program.
- Pass a written examination prescribed by the DHCC.
RDA/Registered Dental Assistant
ALERT – Suspension of the Registered Dental Assistant (RDA) Practical Examination:
“On April 6, 2017, the Dental Board of California (Board) voted to suspend the Registered Dental Assistant (RDA) practical examination as a result of the findings of the review of the practical examination conducted by the Office of Professional Examination Services (OPES) of the Department of Consumer Affairs (DCA). Pursuant to Business and Professions Code Section 1752.1, the Board may vote to suspend the practical examination if the review conducted by the OPES concludes that the practical examination is unnecessary or does not accurately measure the competency of RDAs.
A public copy of the OPES Review of the Registered Dental Assistant Practical Examination may be found here. The redacted sections in the report were necessary to protect confidential and sensitive information regarding the registered dental assistant practical examination
The suspension of the RDA practical examination commences on April 6, 2017 and shall remain suspended until July 1, 2017, at which time the practical examination shall be reinstated.
On February 10, 2016 the Legislative Counsel Bureau opined that if the Board suspends the RDA practical examination, the Board may, during that suspension, license an applicant who has not taken the practical examination, so long as that applicant meets all other requirements for licensure. A copy of this opinion may be found here
The Board will be contacting all current applicants for RDA licensure in the coming weeks regarding the outcome of this meeting and what next steps are necessary on their pathway to RDA licensure.
The Board will license applicants who have not taken, or have not successfully passed, the practical examination, if the applicant meets all other requirements of licensure, including successful completion of the RDA Written Examination and the RDA Law & Ethics Examination, until July 1, 2017.
As a result of the suspension of the RDA practical examination, the Board anticipates an increase in the number of phone, email, and mail inquires relating to RDA licensure. Please note that such inquiries may take 4-5 business days for response.”
There are two pathways to obtain a Registered Dental Assistant license in California:
- For individuals applying on or after January 1, 2010, evidence of completion of satisfactory work experience of at least 15 months as a dental assistant in California or another state
- Successful completion of a formal education via a Dental Board-approved RDA program.
Also,need completion of the following:
- shall demonstrate satisfactory performance in both a state-administered written exam, and a Law & Ethics exam.
- Successful completion of Board-approved Radiation Safety certification course.
- Successful completion of Board-approved certification course in Coronal Polishing.
In addition to the requirements, individuals applying for registered dental assistant licensure on or after January 1, 2010, shall provide written evidence of successful completion within five years prior to application of all of the following:
(1) A board-approved course in the Dental Practice Act.
(2) A board-approved course in infection control.
(3) A course in basic life support offered by an instructor approved by the American Red Cross or the American Heart Association, or any other course approved by the board as equivalent.
Optional Certifications for the RDA:
- Orthodontic Assistant Permit: Ultrasonic Scaling, supragingival only, for removal of Orthodontic Cement, in patients undergoing orthodontic treatment.
- Dental Sedation Assistant Permit
According to California law Chapter 4. Dentistry, Article 7. Dental Auxiliaries 1752.1:
A registered dental assistant may apply for an orthodontic assistant permit or a dental sedation assistant permit, or both, by submitting written evidence of the following:
(1) Successful completion of a board-approved orthodontic assistant or dental sedation assistant course, as applicable.
(2) Passage of a written examination administered by the board that shall encompass the knowledge, skills, and abilities necessary to competently perform the duties of the particular permit.
(g) A registered dental assistant with permits in either orthodontic assisting or dental sedation assisting shall be referred to as an “RDA with orthodontic assistant permit,” or “RDA with dental sedation assistant permit,” as applicable. These terms shall be used for reference purposes only and do not create additional categories of licensure.
(h) Completion of the continuing education requirements established by the board pursuant to Section 1645 by a registered dental assistant who also holds a permit as an orthodontic assistant or dental sedation assistant shall fulfill the continuing education requirements for the permit or permits.
(i) The board shall, in consultation with the Office of Professional Examination Services, conduct a review to determine whether a practical examination is necessary to demonstrate competency of registered dental assistants, and if so, how this examination should be developed and administered. The board shall submit its review and determination to the appropriate policy committees of the Legislature on or before July 1, 2017.
(j) Notwithstanding any other law, if the review conducted by the Office of Professional Examination Services pursuant to subdivision (i) concludes that the practical examination is unnecessary or does not accurately measure the competency of registered dental assistants, the board may vote to suspend the practical examination. The suspension of the practical examination shall commence on the date the board votes to suspend the practical examination and shall remain suspended until July 1, 2017, at which date the practical examination shall be reinstated. If the board votes to suspend the practical examination, the board shall post a notice on its Internet Web site stating that the practical examination has been suspended, until July 1, 2017.
- Pit and Fissure Sealant Placement.
A registered dental assistant licensed on and after January 1, 2010, shall provide evidence of successful completion of a board-approved course in the application of pit and fissure sealants prior to the first expiration of his or her license that requires the completion of continuing education as a condition of renewal, (which is the second renewal.) The license of a registered dental assistant who does not provide evidence of successful completion of that course shall not be renewed until evidence of course completion is provided.
RDAEF/Registered Dental Assistant in Extended Functions
To become licensed as a Registered Dental Assistant in Extended Functions in California an individual must:
- Currently be licensed as a RDA.
- Complete a Board approved course of instruction in all advanced functions in the RDAEF category.
- Pass written examinations administered by the course provider.
- Pass a comprehensive clinical examination administered by the Board.
SPECIAL PERMITS FOR RDA:
Registered dental assistants must be certified to perform:
- Ultrasonic scaling for orthodontic cement removal.
- Placement of pit and fissure sealants.
- Coronal polishing.
- Exposure and processing of radiographs.
DA - unlicensed
Although the DA is an unlicensed individual, each must have a California Radiation Safety certificate if they are required to expose and process radiographs. Such certification requires successful completion of a Board-approved course.
Orthodontic Assistant and Sedation Assistant Permits
Effective January 1, 2010, dental assistants, registered dental assistants, and registered dental assistants in extended functions who meet specified work experience and course requirements and who pass a written examination may obtain an orthodontic assistant permit or dental sedation assistant permit. Visit the Dental Board of California website for more information.
License Display for ALL Licensees
There is no requirement that licenses have to be posted. However, Business and Professions Code Section 1700 provides that a person is guilty of a misdemeanor and subject to disciplinary action if any person: engages in the practice of dentistry without causing to be displayed in a conspicuous place in his or her office the name of each and every person employed there in the practice of dentistry.
A health care professional shall disclose on a nametag in at least 18-point type:
- His or her name.
- License status, or
- Prominently display his or her license.
New changes to the Dental Practice Act now require that every dental licensee must communicate to a patient his or her name, license type, and highest level of academic degree by one or both of the following methods:
- In writing at the patient’s initial office visit.
- In a prominent display in an area visible to patients in his or her place of practice.
Dentists and dental auxiliaries may renew their state license and make address changes online at http://www.dbc.ca.gov.
License renewal for all categories of dental professionals occurs every two years on the licensee’s birthday.
- Payment of a license renewal fee and verification of the completion of continuing education requirements must occur prior to the expiration date.
- To assure C.E. units count toward license renewal, make sure the course provider is at least one of the following:
- Dental Board of California Approved provider.
- ADA Certified Education Recognition Program (CERP) provider.
- AGD Program Approval for Continuing Education (PACE) provider.
- Always inform the dental board or licensing agency of an address change, which dentists can complete online at http://www.dbc.ca.gov, since state mail is not forwarded.
Beginning July 1, 2011 licensed dentists, dental assistants, and dental hygienists who were licensed prior to January 1, 1999, or for whom an electronic record of fingerprint submission does not exist, are required to submit fingerprints as part of the license renewal process. Also, as a condition of renewal, a licensee must disclose if he or she has been convicted in the prior renewal cycle of any violation of law, except for traffic infraction under $1,000 not involving alcohol, dangerous drugs, or controlled substances. Additionally, any disciplinary action against any other license held by the licensee must be disclosed.
The Dental Board's adoption of a fingerprinting and criminal background check regulation is consistent with other California health professional licensing agencies. Each licensee must pay the cost of fingerprinting and a criminal records check. See California Dental Board website www.cdb.ca.gov for forms and instructions.
Continuing Education for Licensure
Each licensee must renew their license every two years by the last day of the month of their birthday. As a courtesy, renewal notices are sent about 60 days prior to expiration, but the licensee is ultimately responsible for renewing his or her license.
Warning: It is a criminal offense to perform licensed duties with an expired, cancelled, or inactive license!
Continuing education courses must be taken from an approved provider. Every two years a licensee shall take at least the required number of continuing education units:
- Dentists 50 units
- RDH 25 units
- RDA 25 units
- RDHAP 35 units
The following courses are required for each license renewal, for all licensed dental professionals, every two years:
- Basic Life Support from an approved American Red Cross or American Heart Association provider.
- California Dental Practice Act (CDPA).
- Infection control.
Continuing Education Requirements
The minimum requirement for each renewal period is 50 hours for DDS, 25 hours for RDH/RDHEF (35 hours for RDHAP), 25 hours for RDA & RDAEF of continuing education, including:
- Basic Life Support. Licensees renewing for the first time are exempt from this requirement. (Title 16 California Code of Regulations, Sections 1016 and 1017)
- 2 hours of California Infection Control
- 2 hours of California Dental Practice Act
Note: Infection Control and California Dental Practice Act may be taken online at any of the registered continuing education web sites (below). Eighty percent must be completed for Category I. The balance can be completed for Category II. No more than half of the required Continuing Education hours can be completed through home study or on line coursework.
Registered Continuing Education Providers
APPROVED CONTINUING EDUCATION WEB SITES
CE Courses need to be authorized & approved by the California Dental Board!
This course you are currently taking IS an authorized & approved CE Provider, listed on the CA Board website: http://www.dbc.ca.gov/licensees/cont_education.shtml
Provider Name: Access Continuing Education, Inc. Web site: https://www.accesscontinuingeducation.com
Continuing education providers need to be registered by the Dental Board. To verify whether a provider is registered with California, please their License Verification service. To learn how to become registered continuing education provider, please visit their continuing education provider permit page. For more information, contact The Dental Board at 916-263-2356 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
New Continuing Education regulations were adopted April 8, 2010. The DBC has divided acceptable continuing education course content into three areas. These are:
- Mandatory course
- California Dental Practice Act (CDPA)
- Infection Control
- Basic Life Support
IMPORTANT: Mandatory Courses: (i) CDPA and (ii) Infection Control, MUST BE PROVIDED BY APPROVED REGISTERED PROVIDERS WHO HAVE APPROVAL TO TEACH THE DESIGNATED COURSE/S WITH THE DENTAL BOARD OF CALIFORNIA!
- Courses directly related to the actual delivery of dental services to the patient or the community.
- Courses considered to be primarily of benefit to the licensee, such as practice management subjects.
No more than 20% of required units may be in courses considered to be primarily of benefit to the licensee. Such courses can include:
- Methods of patient record keeping.
- Skill development such as communication, behavioral sciences, patient management and motivation when oriented specifically to the needs of the dental practice.
A more complete listing of allowable and non-allowable course topics is located at: http://www.dbc.ca.gov.
Interactive / Classroom and Homes Study Courses
Home study courses by Board-registered providers may be used toward continuing education requirements as long as the units do not exceed half of the total required credits. This is often referred to as the 50/50 rule.
Home study courses include:
- Tape-recorded courses
- Home-study materials
- Video courses
- On-line computer courses
Interactive instruction courses provided by Board-registered providers are accepted as full credit toward license renewal. They include live:
- Telephone conferencing
- Video conferencing
- Classroom study
Each licensee should retain copies of their continuing education certifications for a period of 5 years and may be audited by the Board during that time. A licensee must NOT send evidence of completion of their required units with their renewal form, UNLESS requested to do so.
A licensee can place their license on inactive status, which means that he or she must continue to pay their renewal fee, but is not required to complete the continuing education requirements.
Expired or Cancelled License 5 years or more:
BEFORE ANY APPLICATION PROCESSES MAY TAKE PLACE, AN APPLICANT (DDS/RDH/RDA-ALL LEVELS) MUST FIRST PETITION THE BOARD FOR ISSUANCE OF A NEW LICENSE!
A license that has expired can only be renewed by payment of the required renewal fees and delinquency fees for each renewal period. A license that has been expired for more than five years is automatically cancelled and cannot be renewed. The holder of a cancelled certificate, permit, or license must complete and submit application for
NEW LICENSE TO REPLACE CANCELLED LICENSE
If license has been cancelled 5 years or longer, applicant must petition the Board, FIRST, to be able to apply for a new License!
To apply for a new license to replace a cancelled license, submit a completed application form with applicable fees. The fee is based upon the expiration date of the cancelled dental license, delinquency fees, and current examination fees. Call the Board for a determination of the appropriate fee to submit with your application.
If you have used another name since your last renewal, you must submit a completed
Notification of Name Change form, with required documentation.
For any yes response (above the arrow on the application) you need to provide a detailed letter of explanation. Also, if applicable, court where case was filed, case name, case number, and documents, a copy of complaint, transcripts, depositions, etc. Providing these documents at the time of application will expedite the review of your application. If you choose, you may also submit any treatment records or X-rays, as well as letters or documents from your attorney.
EXPIRED AND CANCELLED LICENSES
If license has been cancelled 5 years or longer, applicant must petition the Board, FIRST, to be able to apply for a new License!
A license that has been expired for more than five years is automatically cancelled, and cannot be renewed, reinstated restored or reissued. The holder of a cancelled certificate must apply as a first time applicant for RDH Licensure.
EXPIRED AND CANCELLED LICENSES
If license has been cancelled 5 years or longer, applicant must petition the Board, FIRST, to be able to apply for a new License!
A license/permit that has been expired for more than five years is automatically cancelled, and cannot be renewed. The holder of a cancelled certificate must either apply for a new license/permit, and pass the associated examination(s), or petition the Dental Board. To begin the process of the issuance of a new license/permit to replace a cancelled license, contact the Board via email at DAProgram@dca.ca.gov. In the email, please include your name, license number, current address, and phone number.
Enforcement by Dental Board
To provide optimum consumer protection, the Dental Board of California operates its own comprehensive enforcement program to manage and investigate complaints. Complaints can come from health care providers, consumers, law enforcement, insurance companies, or other sources. If an investigation shows cause, any licensee may be reprimanded or placed on probation, or have their license revoked or suspended by the Board or the DHCC.
Examples of Offenses or Cause for Investigation
- Failing to complete appropriate continuing education.
- Providing fraudulent and forged evidence to the DBC or DHCC regarding continuing education.
- Falsifying a prescription for self-use.
- Practicing beyond the scope of the definition of dentistry.
- Requiring patients sign a “release from all claims” before releasing their records.
- Incompetence & Negligence.
- Failing to have a treatment plan or discuss it with the patient.
- Failing to implement or document precautions for handling a pediatric patient who had undergone heart surgery.
- Covering a pediatric patient’s mouth and nose to calm down the patient.
- Failing to properly review a patient’s health history.
- Failing to take a full-mouth series of radiographs during 18 months of treatment.
- Performing 17 improperly filled root canals on one patient.
- Treating an intoxicated patient who also took a Xanax tablet before dental treatment.
- Repeated Acts of Negligence & Incompetence
- Inappropriately performing multiple crown restorations.
- Failing to complete periodontal examinations over four years of treatment.
- Failing to obtain a biopsy on a lesion that was present for seven years.
- Failing to take radiographs on an orthodontic patient for three years.
Conviction of a Crime
The Dental Board of California has the jurisdiction to revoke or suspend a license for conviction of a crime substantially related to the qualifications, functions, or duties of a licensee. The DBC does not have to implement its own investigation and may use any court conviction as "conclusive evidence."
The types of crimes that constitute grounds for discipline are things in a licensee’s personal life that can reflect upon your professional life. They include, but are not limited to:
- Possession of a controlled substance.
- Sexual battery.
- Operating a vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
- Acts of physical violence.
Examples of Unprofessional Conduct
- Patient abandonment
- Self-prescribing medication
- Communicating with patients by using threats or harassment
- Aiding or abetting of any unlicensed person to practice dentistry
- Committing of any act or acts of sexual abuse, misconduct, or relations with a patient
- Alteration of a patient's record with intent to deceive
- Excessive prescribing or administering of drugs
- Unsanitary or unsafe office conditions, as determined by the customary practice and standards of the dental profession
- Aiding or abetting of a licensed dentist or dental auxiliary to practice dentistry in a negligent or incompetent manner
- Practicing with an expired license
Dental Materials Fact Sheet (DMFS)
The Dental Board has developed and distributes a fact sheet describing and comparing the risks and efficacy of the various types of dental restorative materials that may be used to treat dental patients. The fact sheet must be provided to every new patient and to patients of record prior to the performance of restorative dental treatment.
The dentist must also:
- Acquire signed acknowledgment of receipt of the fact sheet by the patient.
- Place a copy in the patient’s dental record.
- Provide any updated fact sheets to the patient.
- Provide a copy of the fact sheet to the patient upon request.
Failure to provide a patient the most current version of the Dental Materials Fact Sheet is an infraction of the CDPA, and is considered unprofessional conduct.
The Dental Board may place a licentiate on probation, by specific means to rectify the condition which required discipline from the board. This includes but is not limited to additional training, medical exam by physicians appointed by the Board, limitations of practice, and restitution of fees to patients or payors.
Petition for Reinstatement of License/Permit
A person whose license, certificate, or permit has been revoked or suspended, who has been placed on probation, or whose license, certificate, or permit was surrendered pursuant to a stipulated settlement as a condition to avoid a disciplinary administrative hearing, may petition the board for reinstatement or modification of penalty, including modification or termination of probation, after a period of not less than the minimum periods determined by the Board per the regulations of the Dental Practice Act. A petition will not be considered while the petitioner is under sentence for any criminal offense, including any court-imposed probation or parole.
Continue on to